Richelle Mead for Page to Premiere and Fangirlish!

Richelle Mead was interviewed by Fangirlish and Page to Premiere; she talks about her book turned into a movie, the cast, her writing…

Richelle Mead a été interviewée par Fangirlish et Page to Premiere; elle parle de son livre devenu film, du casting, de ses écrits…

IMG_5279.CR2

Must be quite an odd experience, coming to the set of a film based off a book you have written.

Cela doit être une drôle d’expérience de venir sur le plateau de tournage et de voir son livre devenir un film.

It’s definitely overwhelming and it’s mind-blowing to me the work that goes into a movie. That’s what astonishes me more than this is my book. I had no idea the level of detail that they do. I mean, I don’t know if you have looked around, but even the handouts on their desk are real assignments. And every piece of clothing. I mean when you think about it there are hundreds of people who gone through that level of detail for my book. That’s just like wow, it’s unbelievable.

Le travail que demande un film est vraiment bouleversant et hallucinant. Cela m’étonne bien plus que de savoir qu’il s’agit de mon livre. Je ne savais pas qu’ils travaillaient sur tant de détails. Je ne sais pas si vous avez regardé autour de vous mais les cahiers sur leurs bureaux sont de vrais devoirs. Et chaque vêtement. Quand on y pense, des centaines de personnes ont travaillé en détails sur mon livre. C’est vraiment wow, incroyable.

Do you feel pressure as a result of it?

Ressentez-vous une certaine pression?

No, I don’t. I am actually very at ease with it. It’s just fun to see and everything I have seen looks great and I am just going with the flow. I think people are going to love it. I think that the biggest emotional reaction I am having right now is that I have real faces to my characters now and I feel bad for some of them because I know they don’t end well, and I am like Oh, I am sorry. I feel like I owe a personal apology to some of the actors now because it doesn’t turn out well for all of them.

Non, pas du tout. Je suis très à l’aise. C’est chouette à voir et tout ce que j’ai vu semble formidable et je ne fais que suivre le courant. Je pense que les gens vont aimer. Ma plus grande réaction est de me retrouver face à de vraies personnes et je me sens coupable pour certains car je sais qu’ils n’ont pas un happy end et j’ai envie de dire: “Oh, je suis vraiment désolée” J’ai l’impression de devoir m’excuser auprès de certains des acteurs car ils ne finissent pas tous bien.

What was the journey like to get here?

Quel a été le parcours pour en arriver là?

We optioned the film a couple of years ago, but it took a long time for anything to happen. That’s just Hollywood. Every book I know from my friends that has been optioned, the same thing often happens. And I think we also suffered because we were optioned right near the end of the twilight franchise and its hard for people to jump on, oh another Vampire story. It doesn’t matter if they are radically different. They are just worried, oh that won’t read well. It took time for people to warm up to it and also to get the right team. Daniel Waters and Mark Waters on board, who are both so insanely talented.

On a acquis les droits du film il y a deux ans mais il a fallu longtemps pour que ça bouge. C’est comme cela que ça marche à Hollywood. Certains de mes amis ont eu la même chose. Je pense que dans notre cas, nous avons eu un mauvais démarrage car les droits on été achetés quand Twilight se terminait et il était alors difficile de faire entendre nos voix, les gens se disaient, oh encore une histoire de vampires. Peu importe qu’elles soient totalement différentes. Ils étaient juste inquiets que ça ne passe pas bien. Il a fallu du temps pour que l’idée soit acceptée et que l’équipe soit formée avec Daniel Waters et Mark Waters, qui sont tous les deux extrêmement talentueux.

That’s when it got serious.

Et c’est devenu sérieux.

Exactly.

Exactement.

What do they bring to the table? What’s their special sort of quality?

Qu’ont-ils apporté? Quelle est leur qualité?

Daniel and Mark? They really get what I was writing. I like to mix things. My books aren’t – it’s not a straight romance, it’s not a straight adventure. It’s got funny moments, but it’s not a comedy. And they get how to mesh all that. And they both have a snarky tone to them, which I get, because I have kind of a dark humor. And having Daniel with Heathers and Mark with Mean Girls, they get how to work that into it, but it doesn’t make the movie irreverent. It’s still a very serious movie, and reading the script and watching how it plays out, it’s incredible how perfectly they have kind of nailed that balance. I think fans are going to be thrilled with that, because that’s why they like the books.

Daniel et Mark? Ils ont vraiment compris ce que j’écrivais. J’aime faire des mélanges. Mes livres ne sont pas que romance ou qu’aventure. Il y a des moments marrants mais ce n’est pas une comédie. Et ils ont compris comment tout associer. Et ils possèdent tous deux un certain ton narquois, ce que je comprends car j’ai moi-même un certain humour noir. Daniel (Heathers) et Mark (Lolita malgré moi) comprennent comment intégrer cela dans le film, mais cela ne lui porte pas préjudice. Le film reste sérieux, après avoir lu le scénario et vu certaines scènes, je peux dire que c’est incroyable, ils ont parfaitement réussi à trouver le bon équilibre. Je pense que les fans vont être ravis car c’est la raison pour laquelle ils aiment les livres.

Rose and Lucy’s bond is really one of the most captivating things about the book and one of the things fans love so much. I was wondering what do you think of Zoey and Lucy bringing that to life and how well they did it?

Le lien entre Rose et Lucy est l’un des éléments les plus fascinants du livre et l’une des choses que les fans préfèrent. Que pensez-vous de l’interprétation de Zoey et Lucy?

It’s funny that you bring that up, because I just witnessed that tonight. I was watching a scene where Lissa is comforting Rose. If you meet them, Lucy and Zoey, they are just so different. They have these wildly contradicting personalities, just like the characters. And they just mesh perfectly. I mean Lucy, she’s just so centered and so calm, and just happy to be a part of it. Lissa is like that. And Zoey she’s just out there, she’s energetic and larger than life, and they just balance. They are the yin and the yang. They’ve got that going. Don Murphy was telling us when they did the casting they tested that. Those two read together, so that they could check that chemistry. I think they nailed it.

C’est marrant que vous en parliez, je viens juste d’en être témoin ce soir. Je regardais une scène où Lissa récomforte Rose. Si vous les rencontrez, Lucy et Zoey, vous verrez à quel point elles sont différentes. Elles possèdent des personnalités totalement contradictoires, à l’instar de leurs personnages. Elles se complètent parfaitement. Lucy est si sérieuse et calme, elle est contente de faire partie de l’aventure, tout comme Lissa. Zoey se met en avant, elle est dynamique, et toutes deux s’équilibrent. Elles sont le yin et le yang. Elles sont comme ça. Don Murphy nous a dit qu’à l’audition, ils avaient testé cela. Elles ont lu le scénario ensemble afin qu’on puisse évaluer leur alchimie. Elles ont bien réussi.

One of the most anticipated castings was Christian. The fan base was going insane for it. I wanted to know what was your opinion when Dominic was cast and have you met him and what do you think of him?

Parmi les rôles que l’on attendait le plus, il y avait celui de Christian. Les fans en devenaient fous. Qu’avez-vous pensé lorsque Dominic a eu le rôle, l’avez-vous rencontré? Que pensez-vous de  lui?

I didn’t know anything about him. I wasn’t part of the casting process. Mostly he was an unknown to me as I think he was to so many people. I was probably like all the fans, I was heading to google to see what he looked like. I couldn’t see very many shots of him, but every other choice he made was so smart. I had to assume there was a reason. Especially since it took them a long time. I know they did a lot of hunting. He was one of the last people cast. When I met him for the first time yesterday, it was like that’s it, that’s him. I see why they took so long. He looks the part. I have been watching him act. He’s got that attitude there. I think it was a brilliant choice.

Je ne le connaissais pas. Je n’ai pas participé au casting. Il m’était pour ma part totalement inconnu, comme il l’était pour beaucoup. J’ai sûrement fait comme tous les fans, je suis allée voir à quoi il ressemblait sur Google. Je n’ai pas trouvé beaucoup de photos de lui mais tous ses choix étaient intelligents. J’ai pensé qu’il y avait une raison qu’il soit choisi, il leur avait fallu tellement longtemps. Je sais qu’ils ont fait beaucoup de recherches. Il a été parmi les derniers à être choisi. Quand je l’ai rencontré pour la première fois hier, j’ai pensé, voilà, c’est lui. Je comprends pourquoi ils ont mis si longtemps. Il ressemble au personnage. Je l’ai vu jouer certaines scènes. Il a l’attitude de Christian. Je pense qu’ils ont choisi merveilleusement bien.

How hands on have you been? Can they ask you any questions they want? Have they been asking you lots of questions?

A quel point avez-vous été présente? Ont-ils pu vous poser les questions qu’ils souhaitaient? Vous ont-ils posé beaucoup de questions?

Mark has asked me some questions. Ultimately, the movie making process, when I sign the paper, it’s all up to them. They could cast it with werewolves if they wanted. It’s out of my control.

Mark m’a posé quelques questions. Mais au final, après avoir signé les papiers, toute la réalisation du film leur revient. Ils auraient pu y inclure des loups-garous s’ils le voulaient. Je ne pouvais rien dire.

Is that a spoiler?

Est-ce un spoiler?

Yeah…surprise! No, they don’t ever have to talk to me again, but Mark’s been really great. There has been things he has wondered about, some of the costume choices and things, or he would ask oh if we do x will this effect y, and that’s been really great. I have just been there as consulting when they need it. I don’t make any ultimate decisions, but it’s a real privilege as an author for them to check with me. I think that there are a lot of authors that walk into a theater and are very surprised with what is there.

Oui…surprise! Non, ils n’étaient plus obligés de me parler, mais Mark a été génial. Il s’est posé des questions sur certaines choses, comme le choix des costumes ou il me demandait: “Si on fait ça, est-ce que ça va influencer sur ça”, et c’était génial. J’étais juste là pour conseiller quand ils avaient besoin de moi. Je n’ai pas le dernier mot mais c’est un véritable privilège en tant qu’auteur de pouvoir donner mon avis. Je pense que beaucoup d’auteurs sont vraiment surpris par ce qu’ils voient au cinéma.

Were you worried about that? When the film was optioned and you suddenly lost control over it. Were you worried that would go in a way that you didn’t like?

Etiez-vous inquiète après avoir donné les droits? Aviez-vous peur que le film parte dans une direction que vous n’aimeriez pas?

I always knew it was a possibility. It’s a risk that any author takes. You have people much, much bigger than me. You sign away that control. It was a risk I was willing to take. I think it’s less scary to me, because I ultimately write the books. If they did something, and it ultimately wasn’t what I thought, I still make my own world. I think it’s scarier for the fans, because they aren’t writing the books or making the movies, so I think that there is a loss of control and they are worried about the movie coming out. They don’t need to worry. Its been great so far. I just take it as it comes and I think we have been lucky so far. Everything has been spot on.

C’était une possibilité, je le savais. C’est un risque que l’on prend en tant qu’auteur. Ce sont des gens bien plus importants que moi. Vous cédez les commandes. C’était un risque que j’étais prête à prendre. J’avais moins peur car au final, j’écris les livres. S’ils avaient fait quelque chose qui allait à l’encontre de ce que je pensais, je continue à créer mon propre monde. Cela doit être plus inquiétant pour les fans car ils n’écrivent pas les livres et ne réalisent pas les films donc il y a une perte de contrôle et ils sont inquiets. Ils ne doivent pas s’inquiéter. C’est génial jusqu’à présent. Je prends les choses comme elles viennent et je pense qu’on a de la chance jusqu’à maintenant. Tout est parfait.

We previously spoke to Danila. The way he spoke, he really seemed to understand and adore the character of Dimitri. I wanted to know what your thoughts on Danila were when you first met him and you spoke to him about the character.

On a parlé avec Danila. A la manière dont il parle, on sent bien qu’il comprend et aime vraiment Dimitri. Qu’avez-vous pensé de Danila lorsque vous l’avez rencontré et parlé du personnage?

I was star struck when I first met him. But he’s so approachable and so easy going when you talk to him. You would never guess, I mean, he’s a megastar in Russia. He’s so friendly, very humble, very charming. He’s a perfect gentleman. I just love talking to him. We actually just talked over there and I signed a book for him and he had me sign another one for a friend in Russia. He’s been really great and he’s excited about the character. He thanked me for writing the books and someone who had spoken to him earlier was saying that he is excited for the way the story develops and the rest of the series if we make more movies, what happens to Dmitiri. I am thrilled he is so invested in it.

J’étais sous le charme quand je l’ai rencontré pour la première fois. Mais il est si accessible et détendu quand on lui parle. On ne le croirait pas, il est une superstar en Russie, après tout. Il est tellement sympa, humble et charmant. Un vrai gentleman. J’aime lui parler. On s’est parlé là-bas et je lui ai dédicacé un livre, et il m’a demandé d’en dédicacer un pour un de ses amis en Russie. Il a vraiment été génial et il est très enthousiaste quant à son personnage. Il m’a remercié d’avoir écrit les livres et d’après ce qu’a dit une personne lui ayant parlé un peu plus tôt, il est très enthousiaste quant à la suite de l’histoire si on a fait les autres films, il aime l’évolution de Dimitri. Je suis ravie de voir à quel point il est investi dans son personnage.

How much time have you been able to spend on set? Have you been here the whole shoot?

Combien de temps avez-vous pu passer sur le plateau de tournage? Etes-vous restée ici pendant tout le tournage?

No I got here yesterday.

Non, je viens juste d’arriver hier.

How long are you staying?

Combien de temps restez-vous?

I am going home tomorrow. This is very short. If I am a little jetlagged, this is why. It’s just a short visit. I have a little son, so I didn’t want to be away from home for so long. But this is a once in a lifetime thing to see, or maybe six in a lifetime If they make the other movies.

Je retourne chez moi demain. C’est un voyage très court. Si je semble un peu fatiguée, c’est à cause du décalage horaire. C’est une visite très courte. J’ai un petit garçon, donc je ne veux pas m’absenter trop longtemps. Mais c’est une occasion comme il n’en arrive qu’une fois dans sa vie, ou peut-être 6 fois dans sa vie s’ils font les autres films.

You are pretty active on twitter. The fan base is quite big on twitter. What do you think of the support that they give? They are really excited for any sort of news. Sarah said she tweeted a picture of cabbage and they went crazy.

Vous êtes plutôt active sur Twitter. Il y a beaucoup de fans là-bas. Que pensez-vous de leur soutien? Ils sont tellement enthousiastes par la moindre des nouvelles. Sarah nous a dit avoir tweeté une photo de chou (broccoli) et ils étaient devenus fous.

They are great. I have the best fans and readers in the world. I mean they are just so passionate and so supportive. And they are what makes this possible. It is what inspires me and I hope it inspires the actors too. Its grueling work anything, books or movies. There are days where I am like I can’t write another word and then you see the enthusiasm out there and I get emails from people who are like this character changed my life. And that’s what gives me motivation. The tangible things are important of course, paycheck and sales, you think about those, but it’s that reader reaction that gets to your heart and makes you want to do a good job.

Ils sont géniaux. J’ai les meilleurs fans et lecteurs du monde. Ils sont tellement passionnés et me soutiennent tellement. C’est grâce à eux que tout cela est possible. Ils m’inspirent et j’espère qu’ils inspirent les acteurs aussi. Qu’ils s’agissent des livres ou des films, c’est un travail éreintant. Certains jours, je me dis “Je ne peux plus rien écrire” et puis, je vois leur enthousiasme et je reçois des mails de gens qui me disent: “Ce personnage a changé ma vie”. Cela me donne la motivation nécessaire. Bien sûr, les choses concrètes, telles que l’argent et les ventes, sont importantes, vous y pensez mais c’est la réaction des lecteurs qui me touche et me donne envie de faire du bon travail.

In film we don’t often see many strong female leads, it’s much more common in books, why do you think it’s important that these films do exist. That perspective being represented.

Il est rare de voir des héroines qui sont fortes dans les films, à la différence des livres, pourquoi est-il important d’avoir de tels films? D’avoir ce point de vue?

Even in modern times I think it’s easy for women and young women to think that they have to slip into sort of a passive role – just focus on romance or something like that, and not go off and do your own thing. So I think it’s good for them to see an outgoing character who can have it all kind of. I tried not to stray too far into the opposite direction. Sometimes I see action heroines who are too unemotional, who are too hard core. They don’t have friends or lovers or anything. I think it’s important for young women to see you can have all these parts of your life – you can have your friends and still have your emotions. I really try to balance it out. I hope that comes across in the books and in the film.

Même à l’heure actuelle, je pense qu’il est facile pour les femmes et les jeunes filles de se laisser cantonner à un rôle passif, de se concentrer sur leurs histoires d’amour par exemple, et de ne pas se lancer dans leurs propres aventures. Je pense que c’est bien pour elles de suivre un personnage extraverti qui a toutes ces choses. J’essaie de ne pas trop partir dans le sens contraire. Je vois parfois des héroines sans émotions, qui sont trop inflexibles. Elles n’ont pas d’amis, de copains, rien de tout cela. Il est important pour les jeunes filles de voir qu’elles peuvent concilier leur amitié et leur émotions. J’essaie de trouver le bon équilibre. J’espère que cela se voit dans les livres et dans le film.

Rose is a relatable character – she’s got real teenage problems and crushes and things like that. And then she’s really badass. I wanted to know what inspired you to create Rose. Some people would go in the other direction and write from Lissa’s point of view, because she’s a princess and usually that’s where people would have chosen to go with it. But I wanted to know why you chose to go with a guardian instead.

On peut s’identifier à Rose, elle subit des problèmes d’adolescente, elle est amoureuse et tout cela. Et puis, elle est badass. J’aurais aimé savoir ce qui vous avez inspiré pour créer Rose. Certaines personnes auront choisi l’autre option et auraient écrit du point de vue de Lissa car c’est une princesse et c’est ce qu’on choisi souvent. Pourquoi avoir choisi une gardienne à la place?

It was just a fun thing for me and it’s very different for me. I am more of a thinker. Maybe more like a Lissa, or in my newer books, Sydney, who is a spinoff character. You know, think first, make a plan, then act. I just thought it would be so great to have someone right there, no filter, in your face, punch first then ask questions. But she doesn’t stay that way. Rose evolves and she matures and I think that is a fun journey to put someone on. It was just a fun departure for me, cause it was so different from myself and because it did have so much potential to make her grow and get a grip. You really can’t keep throwing punches your whole life. Its still definitely great to stand up for yourself, but there is a balance there. She was just a fun character to work with. She’s got great lines. It was just something different.

C’était chouette et c’est très différent pour moi. Je réfléchis beaucoup. Je suis peut-être plus comme Lissa ou comme Sydney, le personnage de ma nouvelle série. Plutôt du genre: réfléchis au problème, trouve une solution et puis, agit. Je pensais que cela pourrait être bien d’avoir un personnage qui ne se retient pas, qui dit ce qu’elle pense, qui frappe d’abord et pose les questions après. Elle ne reste pas comme cela, certes. Rose évolue, elle mûrit et selon moi, il est intéressant de lui faire vivre ce parcours. C’était un voyage amusant, car elle est tellement différente de moi et j’avais entre les mains le potentiel pour la faire grandir et mûrir. Tu ne peux pas passer ta vie à frapper les gens. Il est bien de se défendre mais il faut trouver un certain équilibre. J’ai beaucoup aimé travailler sur ce personnage. Elle a de chouettes répliques. C’était vraiment différent.

Obviously you have talked to fans who have read the book and it’s changed their lives, can you give us examples of it changing someones life?

Vous avez apparemment parlé avec vos fans et vos livres ont changé leur vie, pouvez-vous nous donner des exemples?

This is a common one, just teenagers who have been going through so much, divorce especially with their parents, who need that escape. It’s not like my books are fixing that by any means, but when you are going through a lot of hurt, they have said this book got me through a time I didn’t know if I would have been able to. I have had more than one soldier write to me. People stationed in Iraq and Afghanistan who have said you know what long time from home its hard, I have read your books, and those stories are inspiring to me. They just gut you. It’s easy to just be focusing on your one page and then to realize that it has such a global spread and such an emotional spread. Its daunting.

Ce qui revient souvent, ce sont des ados qui ont vécu beaucoup de choses, tel que le divorce de leurs parents, et qui ont besoin d’un échappatoire. Bien entendu, mes livres ne résolvent pas leurs problèmes mais quand ils vivaient des moments difficiles, les livres les ont aidé à faire face. Plus d’un soldat m’a écrit. Des soldats stationnés en Iraq et en Afghanistan m’ont confié éprouver des difficultés à rester loin de chez eux et mes livres les ont inspirés. Ils m’ont vraiment touchés. Il est facile de se concentrer sur son histoire et puis seulement de réaliser sa portée mondiale et émotionnelle. C’est intimidant.

Do you have to check yourself sometimes?

Devez-vous surveiller ce que vous dites parfois?

I am trying to tell a story. I certainly have points that I try to make in my book but I am not trying to teach a lesson at the end of the day. I mean if people take away something and it inspires them, I think that’s great. I want them just to have a nice experience, to be entertained and to have a good time.

J’essaie de raconter une histoire. Il est certain que j’essaie de faire passer des choses dans mes livres mais je ne fais pas la morale. Si les gens en tirent quelque chose et que cela les inspire, c’est génial. Je souhaite juste qu’ils vivent une chouette expérience, un bon divertissement.

What about the books themselves? Can you talk about the future and what your plans are?

Qu’en est-il des livres? Pouvez-vous nous parler de la suite, quels sont vos projets?

Vampire Academy is six books, and that focus is on Rose. Bloodlines, the spinoff series that I am working on. The main characters are side characters in this series. Rose is still in it, but she is off to the periphery. That’s what I am working on right now, the spinoff. Book four comes out this November.

La série Vampire Academy comporte six livres, du point de vue de Rose. La série Bloodlines, sur laquelle je travaille actuellement,  est un spin-off.  Les personnages principaux sont des personnages secondaires de Vampire Academy. Rose est encore présente mais à l’arrière-plan. C’est sur quoi je travaille maintenant, le spin-off. Le quatrième tome sort en novembre.

Eagerly anticipated.

Attendu avec impatience.

Ya. Do you read the series?

Oui, avez-vous lu la série?

Not yet. But I have friends who really, really love Sydney and Adrian.

Pas encore. Mais j’ai des amis qui adorent vraiment Sydney et Adrian.

Tell them it’s a hot one. Get out their smelling salts and their fans. It’s fun. That series will probably have six books. Then after that I don’t know. It’s hard when you create a world that is so in depth. I don’t know if I will do another spinoff. I could go back to Rose.

Dites-leur que c’est un livre sexy. Ils doivent sortir leur sels et leur éventails. C’est marrant. La série va certainement compter six tomes. Après, je ne sais pas. C’est difficile de continuer après avoir créé un monde aussi recherché. Je ne sais pas si je ferai un autre spin-off. Je pourrais revenir à Rose.

That’s the great thing about creating a world. You can do what you want with it, decide if you will spin it off or such. You have got a lot of creative freedom there.

C’est ce qui est génial lorsqu’on crée un monde. Vous pouvez en faire ce que vous voulez, choisir d’en faire un spin-off, par exemple. Vous jouissez d’une grande liberté.

It’s nice. It’s a good balance. When I finished the Vampire Academy series I thought, I need a break from Rose, but I don’t want to let these guys go completely. The spinoff was a great balance.

C’est sympa. Il y a un bon équilibre. Après avoir fini Vampire Academy, j’ai pensé: “je dois m’éloigner de Rose mais je ne veux pas les abandonner pour de bon.” Le spin-off m’a permis de trouver cet équilibre.

Have you ever thought of creating another world, completely unrelated.

Avez-vous déjà pensé à créer un autre monde, totalement différent?

I have some adult books that are set in different kind of fantasy worlds. My newest just came out which is kind of sci-fi-ish. So I do have some other things to play with.

J’ai écrit des romans adultes, qui se passent dans d’autres mondes. Ma toute nouvelle série vient de sortir et est plutôt porté sur la science-fiction. Donc, j’ai de quoi m’occuper.

Source: Page to Premiere

You can read the article here (vous pouvez lire l’article ici):

VAMPIRE ACADEMY SET VISIT: Richelle Mead

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Richelle Mead for Page to Premiere and Fangirlish!

  1. mundanequiet5988.jimdo.com June 24, 2014 at 3:10 pm Reply

    Est-il possible de prendre 2 3 lignes pour mon site web personnel ?

Leave a comment