Zoey Deutch in JJ Spotlight of the week

zoey-deutch-just-jared-spotlight-of-the-week-exclusive-02

Just Jared interviewed Zoey Deutch for Spotlight of the week!

Just Jared a interviewé Zoey Deutch dans le cadre du Spotlight of the week!

Just Jared: Tell us what drew you to Vampire Academy. What was so special about this movie, since there are quite a number of vampire shows and movies?

Qu’est-ce qui vous a attiré dans Vampire Academy. Qu’avez ce film de si spécial, car il existe déjà beaucoup de films et de séries sur les vampires?

Zoey Deutch: I don’t really feel there has been a big vampire film recently, although it’s a subject and a genre that has definitely been explored and in some people’s eyes perhaps overdone. I haven’t done extensive research, but I don’t think there’s been too many vampire films as funny as this. It’s always funny when people ask me why I was attracted to it because what most people wouldn’t understand is… I don’t go out and go, “Oh I want that part,” and then all of a sudden I get it, you know? I’m constantly auditioning all the time, even while I’m working, to get a job that I like.

Je n’ai pas l’impression qu’il y ait eu un grand film sur les vampires récemment, même si c’est un sujet et un genre qui a été largement exploré et peut-être même trop pour certains. Je n’ai pas fait beaucoup de recherches sur le sujet, mais je ne pense pas qu’il y aient beaucoup de films de vampires aussi marrants que celui-là. C’est marrant quand les gens me demandent pourquoi le projet m’a attiré car ils ne comprennent pas, je ne sors pas de chez moi en me disant: “Je veux ce rôle” et bam, je l’ai, vous comprenez? Je passe sans cesse des auditions, même pendant mon travail, afin d’avoir un job que j’aime.

Most people are kind of struggling because they’re taking jobs to make money. But in this instance, it all came together in a way that I feel very fortunate. I loved the character – it’s a kind of bad-ass heroine who uses her humor as a defense mechanism, as a means of survival. And for some ungodly reason I got the part, so that’s how it all came to be. It came to fruition.

Beaucoup de gens luttent car ils choisissent un travail pour avoir de l’argent. Mais dans mon cas, tout se passe d’une manière pour laquelle je sens que j’ai de la chance. J’aimais le personnage, c’est une héroine badass qui utilise son humour pour se défendre, comme moyen de surive. Et Dieu seul sait pourquoi j’ai eu le rôle, donc voilà comment ça se passe. C’est un aboutissement.

JJ: What was your favorite scene to film?

Qu’avez-vous préféré tourner?

ZD: The action sequences were the scariest. I was very, very careful about making sure that I wouldn’t hurt anyone else. And we had a great stunt team behind us. I was a dancer when I was younger so that certainly helped me. My body and muscle memory were able to perform.

Les scènes d’action étaient les plus effrayantes. Je faisais très attention de ne blesser personne. Et on avait une grande équipe de cascadeurs derrière nous. J’ai fait de la danse étant plus jeune, cela a certainement aidé. Mon corps et mes muscles m’ont permis de faire les cascades.

JJ: What did you prepare for most, action scenes or emotional scenes?

Pour quoi vous êtes-vous le plus préparée, les scènes d’action ou les scènes d’émotion?

ZD: I would say that I prepared more for the emotional stuff because I couldn’t prepare for the action stuff because half of it, I would be taught the action sequences like ten minutes before, which is even more terrifying. I’m like, “How the f–k do you use nunchucks?” I really have no idea. That was definitely interesting.

Je me suis plus préparée pour les scènes d’émotion car je n’ai pas pu me préparer pour les scènes d’action, la moitié du temps, on m’enseignait les actions 10 minutes avant, ce qui fait encore plus peur. J’étais là: “Quoi?? Comment on utilise ces nunchucks?” Je n’en avais aucune idée. C’était vraiment intéressant.

JJ: Do you have a favorite prop from set?

Avez-vous un accessoire préféré du tournage?

ZD: I love, I loooooove props, but [the director] Mark [Waters] wanted it to be pretty prop-less. So I didn’t really have too many props, unfortunately.

J’adore, j’adore vraiment les accessoires, mais Mark ne voulait pas trop d’accessoires. Donc, je n’en ai pas eu beaucoup, malheureusement.

JJ: So you didn’t steal anything from set?

Vous n’avez rien volé sur le plateau?

ZD: I did. I stole a towel that said, “St. Vladimir” which is the school, and I’m just revealing that now.(laughs)

Si. J’ai volé une serviette avec écrit dessus: “St. Vladimir”, c’est l’école, et je le dis seulement maintenant (rire).

JJ: What’s your favorite off screen moment?

Quel a été votre moment préféré hors caméra?

ZD: It was so long, I can’t pick one. We were all pretty… I have a weird balance of being completely aware of everything that’s going on and needing to basically be my own A.D. (assistant director), understanding exactly what’s going everywhere and at the exact same time – just being a total goof and having fun with everybody.

ça a duré tellement longtemps, je ne peux pas choisir. On était tous…j’ai un drôle d’équilibre, je dois tout le temps savoir ce qui se passe autour de moi et être l’assistante du réalisateur, comprendre exactement ce qu’il se passe mais en même temps, m’amuser avec tout le monde.

I know Mark Waters consciously made an effort to keep my energy very high. As you know, I’m an extremely hyper person. So I was working 16, 17 hours a day for four months including night shoots while being aware of everything, being hyper. And then I made sure that I would go out on weekends to maintain a stable and happy mind opposed to just working all the time. I was exhausted, so I can’t really think of one specific instance, but it was a great experience overall, for sure.

Je sais que Mark Waters a consciemment essayé de garder mon énergie. Comme vous le savez, je suis quelqu’un qui est hyper. Je travaillais 16, 17 heures par jour pendant 4 mois, dont des tournages de nuit tout en sachant ce qu’il se passait autour de moi. J’essayais aussi de sortir le week-end pour garder un esprit équilibré et heureux et ne pas travailler tout le temps. J’étais fatiguée, alors je ne peux pas donner un souvenir précis, mais dans l’ensemble, c’était une chouette expérience.

JJ: Can you think of one though? (laughs)

Ne pouvez-vous vraiment pas penser à un seul? (rire)

ZD: Oh! This isn’t a favorite memory, this is just a really funny memory. I had to train during lunch, because we were working such long hours. I wouldn’t have time in the morning or afterwards to weight train and stuff, which needed to be maintained throughout filming, even though there was virtually no time at all. So we would try and make time during lunch.

Oh! Ce n’est pas mon souvenir préféré, mais c’était marrant. Je devais m’entraîner pendant le déjeuner, car on travaillait de longues heures. Je n’avais pas le temps le matin ou après pour m’entraîner avec des poids, ce qui était nécessaire pour me garder en forme tout le long du tournage, même si on n’avait pas le temps. On essayait de prendre le temps pendant la pause déjeuner.

Instead of going in my trailer and training with my personal trainer, I did it outside on the ground, with a towel, just to f–k with everybody while they were eating lunch. (laughs) Just to torture them and be like, “Look what I’m doing!” Push-ups, sit-ups, weights. And it was raining too! That was funny. Everybody teased me for a long time after that. It was my revenge for them being able to relax and have lunch. I was like…

Au lieu de retourner dans mon trailer et de m’entrainer avec mon coach personnel, je le faisais dehors sur le sol, avec une serviette, juste pour emmerder tout le monde pendant qu’ils mangeait (rire). Pour les torturer et leur dire: “Regardez ce que je fais!” Des pompes, des abdos, des poids. Et il pleuvait! C’était marrant. Tout le monde m’a beaucoup taquiné à ce sujet. C’était ma revanche car ils pouvaient se détendre et déjeuner. Je pensais…

JJ: “I’m still working!”

“Je travaille encore!”

ZD: Exactly!

Exactement!

JJ: Describe your Vampire Academy co-stars in one word. Sarah Hyland.

Décrivez vos costars en un mot. Sarah Hyland.

ZD: Well, you know, I’m going to say the worst one for Dom [Sherwood] because his description for everyone was like, “Beautiful, fun, loving,” and then mine was energetic. So you know what Dom, here’s your answer! Let’s go! Let’s do this thing. Sarah Hyland, hilarious!

Vous savez, je vais dire le pire mot pour Dom car dans sa description, il a dit: “Belle, marrant, charmant” et pour moi, c’était énergique. Alors tu sais Dom, voici ta réponse! Allons-y! Sarah Hyland, hilarante!

JJ: Olga Kurylenko.

ZD: Perfect woman.

Femme parfaite.

JJ: Cameron Monaghan.

ZD: Mercurial.

D’humeur changeante.

JJ: Danila Kozlovsky.

ZD: The counterpart to Olga, perfect man.

L’alter-ego d’Olga, homme parfait.

JJ: Lucy Fry.

ZD: A sense of wonderment.

Emerveillement.

JJ: Claire Foy.

ZD: Inspiring.

Inspirante.

JJ: Ashley Charles.

ZD: Cracks me up.

Me fait rire.

JJ: Dominic Sherwood.

ZD: Party boy.

Fêtard.

JJ: Do you have a funny story about “The Crow”? Dominic said to ask you about it.

Avez-vous une histoire à nous raconter sur une corneille? Dominic nous a demandé de vous le demander.

ZD: Dominic? Who’s the crow? Oh my god, that’s not me. What is he talking about? (pauses)

Dominic? Qui est la corneille? Oh mon Dieu, ce n’est pas moi. De quoi parle-t-il?

Ohhhh! Okay, okay, I know what he’s talking about… I’m losing my mind. (laughs) It wasn’t a crow, it’s a raven. WRONG, DOMINIC! (laughs) We were shooting Vampire Academy in London, and we shot a couple scenes with two live ravens. If anyone knows anything about that specific bird, they are extremely intelligent creatures. One of the ravens was bored and didn’t want to do it anymore. The raven was like, “Oh this is such an easy job for me, I don’t want to hit my mark anymore. I want to do something else.” It would play games with me! It would make noises at me, and I would do it back. It would hop to one side, then hop to the other side. That’s what I was doing in between takes while I was shooting with the raven. So that’s my story. And everybody was so impressed with this raven hitting its mark. I never get any credit for hitting my mark. If it’s so goddamn smart, why can’t I get any credit?

D’accord, d’accord, je sais de quoi il parle…Je perds la tête (rire). Ce n’est pas une corneille mais un corbeau. Faux, Dominic! (rire) On tournait Vampire Academy à Londres, et on a tourné quelques scènes avec deux corbeaux vivants. Si vous connaissez ces oiseaux, vous savez qu’ils sont très intelligents. L’un des corbeaux s’ennuyait et ne voulait plus travailler. Il se disait: “Oh, c’est un travail facile, je ne veux plus aller où je suis censé aller. Je veux faire autre chose.” Il jouait avec moi! Il poussait des cris, et je lui répondais. Il sautait sur le côté, puis de l’autre. C’est ce que je faisais entre les prises pendant le tournage avec le corbeau. Voilà l’histoire. Et tout le monde était impressionné quand il réussissait son coup. Je ne recevais pas de félicitations moi. S’il est si intelligent, pourquoi je ne reçois pas de félicitations?

JJ: (laughs) Three options, kill, marry, screw. Dominic Sherwood, Cameron Monaghan, Sarah Hyland.

(rire) Trois options, tue, marie, couche. Dominc Sherwood, Cameron Monaghan, Sarah Hyland.

ZD: Oh my god, you’re a very bad person! (laughs) If you did all girls, I’d be okay with that. How about we do Sarah, Lucy, and the raven.

Oh mon Dieu, quelle mauvaise personne (rire). Si c’était toutes des filles, il n’y aurait pas de problème. Et si on faisait Sarah, Lucy et le corbeau.

JJ: No raven!

Pas de corbeau!

ZD: Marry Lucy, screw Sarah, and kill the raven.

Marie Lucy, couche avec Sarah et tue le corbeau.

JJ: There’s no raven!

Il n’y a pas de corbeau!

ZD: Shhhhh!

Chut!

zoey-deutch-just-jared-spotlight-of-the-week-exclusive-04 zoey-deutch-just-jared-spotlight-of-the-week-exclusive-05 zoey-deutch-just-jared-spotlight-of-the-week-exclusive-07 zozoz

zoey-deutch-just-jared-spotlight-of-the-week-exclusive-03

zozo zoey-deutch-just-jared-spotlight-of-the-week-exclusive-06

 

 

You can read the rest of the interview: HERE

Source: Just Jared

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

